Peru declares state of emergency in 70 districts due to heavy rains

Photo: Eduard Lozano

Photo: Eduard Lozano

10:56 | Lima, Mar. 27.

The Executive Branch has declared a state of emergency in 70 districts across various regions in the country for 60 calendar days, due to the impact of the damage caused by heavy rains.

The measure was made official by a supreme decree published on Wednesday in El Peruano Official Gazette.

The districts belong to the regions of Amazonas, Ancash, Apurimac, Arequipa, Ayacucho, Cajamarca, Cusco, Huancavelica, Huanuco, Ica, Junin, Lima, Madre de Dios, Puno, Tacna, and Ucayali.

According to the document, the declaration is aimed at implementing appropriate, exceptional, immediate, necessary, response, and rehabilitation measures and actions.

To that end, the regional and local governments covered, with the technical coordination and monitoring of the National Civil Defense Institute (Indeci) and the participation of various ministries, will implement the corresponding measures and actions.

It also states that, by virtue of the state of emergency, various goods may be donated, which are described in the regulation, as referred to in Law No. 30498, which promotes the donation of food and enables the transportation of donations in situations of natural disasters.
Moreover, the decree provides details on the services rendered free of charge, which are within the scope of said law: catering services, medical services, transportation services, as well as dispatch logistics, transfer and storage services, among others.

Another article of the supreme decree indicates that the implementation of these actions provided for therein are financed from the institutional budget of the specifications involved, without demanding additional resources from the public treasury.

The document was signed by the President of the Republic Dina Boluarte and endorsed by Prime Minister Gustavo Adrianzen, as well as the holders of eleven ministerial offices.


Published: 3/27/2024